Universe is everything!
telescope at astroshop
Last Moon Landing

  • years
  • :

  • Months
  • :

  • days

  • hours
  • :

  • minutes
  • :

  • seconds

Libra – The Scales

Libra is one of the 88 constellations within the celestial sphere.

Libra is one of the 17 constellations that represents an object.   

Symbolism: Libra is also known as ‘The Scales’


History & Mythology

Libra has been known by many different cultures and represents many different things for these cultures throughout history. In Greek mythology,  Libra represented the parts of the night sky Chelae Scorpionis, the Scorpion’s claws, with the Romans knowing it to be something different. Now Libra is known as the scales of justice. Libra is a faint constellation lying south of the celestial equator, and is the only constellation on the Zodiac that represents an object.     

Key Data

Bordering Constellations: Libra is bordered by constellations Ophiuchus, Serpens, Scorpius, Virgo, Lupus, Hydra & Centaurus.

Sky Chart #: 5.

Star Raking: 29th largest constellation in the celestial sphere. 

Main Stars: Libra consists of 6 main stars.

Brightest Star: Beta Librae.


Kids Fun Facts Corner

# 1. Libra has 3 star with planets.

# 2. The star Iota in Libra is a multiple star.

# 3. Beta Librae is the brightest star in Libra.


Q&A Corner

Q. What is Libra also known as?

Q. How many main stars does Libra have?

Q. What is the brightest star in Libra?

Q. How many stars have planets in Libra?

Q. What number star ranking is Libra in the celestial sphere?

Download questions about the Libra Constellation here: Libra Constellation (answers are on this page)

Teachers. For more in depth work sheets on constellations. Click on Kidskonnect Worksheets  

For further reading and more information on the Libra Constellation visit

  Key Vocabulary Constellation. Star. Celestial. Sphere.


7 thoughts on “Libra – The Scales”

    1. Libra contains four formally named stars. The star names approved by the International Astronomical Union (IAU) are Brachium, Zubenelgenubi, Zubenelhakrabi, and Zubeneschamali.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Enter Captcha Here : *

Reload Image