Universe is everything!
telescope at astroshop
Last Moon Landing

  • years
  • :

  • Months
  • :

  • days

  • hours
  • :

  • minutes
  • :

  • seconds

Lupus – The Wolf

Lupus is one of the 88 constellations within the celestial sphere.

Lupus is one of the 42 constellations that represents an animal.   

Symbolism: Lupus is also known as ‘The Wolf’



History & Mythology

Lupus has been known by many different cultures and represents many different things for these cultures throughout history. In Greek mythology, Lupus represents a wild animal that was impaled on a pole carrier by Centaurus, and is also known as a different type of Wolf in more modern times. This constellation lies at the edge of the Milky Way.

Key Data

Bordering Constellations: Lupus is bordered by constellations Libra, Circinus, Norma, Scorpius, Centaurus & Hydra.

Sky Chart #: 4.

Star Raking: 46th largest constellation in the celestial sphere. 

Main Stars: Lupus consists of 9 main stars.

Brightest Star: Alpha Lupi.


Kids Fun Facts Corner

# 1. Lupus has 5 stars with planets.

# 2. Alpha Lupi is the brightest star in the Lupus constellation.

# 3. The name Lupus is Latin for Wolf.


Q&A Corner

Q. What is Lupus also known as?

Q. How many main stars does Lupus have?

Q. What is the brightest star in Lupus?

Q. How many stars have planets in Lupus?

Q. What number star ranking is Lupus in the celestial sphere?

Download questions about the Lupus Constellation here: Lupus Constellation (answers are on this page)

Teachers. For more in depth work sheets on constellations. Click on Kidskonnect Worksheets  

For further reading and more information on the Lupus Constellation visit

  Key Vocabulary Constellation. Star. Celestial. Sphere.


3 thoughts on “Lupus – The Wolf”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Enter Captcha Here : *

Reload Image