Universe is everything!
telescope at astroshop
Last Moon Landing

  • years
  • :

  • Months
  • :

  • days

  • hours
  • :

  • minutes
  • :

  • seconds

Pegasus – The Winged Horse

Pegasus is one of the 88 constellations within the celestial sphere.

Pegasus is one of the 42 constellations that represents an animal.

Symbolism: Pegasus is also known as ‘The Winged Horse’



History & Mythology

Pegasus has been known by many different cultures and represent many different things for these cultures throughout history. In Greek mythology, Pegasus represents a flying horse flown by Bellerophon. Located in the northern sky, Pegasus is the 7th largest constellation in the celestial sphere. The constellation is recognizable by the Great Square of Pegasus.   

Key Data

Bordering Constellations: Pegasus is bordered by constellations Pisces, Andromeda, Aquarius, Lacerta, Equuleus, Cygnus, Delphinus & Vulpecula.

Sky Chart #: 3.

Star Raking: 7th largest constellation in the celestial sphere. 

Main Stars: Pegasus consists of 17 main stars.

Brightest Star: Epsilon Pegasi.


Kids Fun Facts Corner

# 1. Pegasus has 12 stars with planets.

# 2. Pegasus has 3 Deep-Sky Objects. M15, NGC 7331 & Stephan’s Quintet.

# 3. The brightest star in Pegasus is Epsilon Pegasi.


Q&A Corner

Q. What is Pegasus also known as?  

Q. How many main stars does Pegasus have?

Q. What is the brightest star in Pegasus?

Q. How many stars have planets in Pegasus?

Q. What number star ranking is Pegasus in the celestial sphere?

Download questions about the Pegasus Constellation here: Pegasus Constellation (answers are on this page)

Teachers. For more in depth work sheets on constellations. Click on Kidskonnect Worksheets  

For further reading and more information on the Pegasus Constellation visit

  Key Vocabulary Constellation. Star. Celestial. Sphere.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Enter Captcha Here : *

Reload Image