Universe is everything!
telescope at astroshop
Last Moon Landing

  • years
  • :

  • Months
  • :

  • days

  • hours
  • :

  • minutes
  • :

  • seconds

Lacerta – The Lizard

Lacerta is one of the 88 constellations within the celestial sphere.

Lacerta is one of the 42 constellations that represents an animal.

Symbolism: Lacerta is also known as ‘ The Lizard’


History & Mythology

Lacerta has been known by many different cultures and represents many different things for these cultures throughout history. In Greek mythology, Lacerta represents the Lizard, as the constellation has an obscure zigzagging pattern. Lacerta was named by Polish astronomer Johannes Hevelius.

Key Data

Bordering Constellations: Lacerta is bordered by constellations Pegasus, Cepheus, Andromeda, Cassiopeia & Cygnus.

Sky Chart #: 3.  

Star Raking: 68th largest constellation in the celestial sphere. 

Main Stars: Lacerta consists of 5 main stars.

Brightest Star: a Lac.


Kids Fun Facts Corner

# 1. Lacerta has 12 stars with planets.

# 2. The deep sky objects in Lacerta are all open clusters.

# 3. a Lac is the brightest star in Lacerta.


Q&A Corner

Q. What is Lacerta also known as?

Q. How many main stars does Lacerta have?

Q. What is the brightest star in Lacerta?

Q. How many stars have planets in Lacerta?

Q. What number star ranking is Lacerta in the celestial sphere?

Download questions about the Lacerta Constellation here: Lacerta Constellation (answers are on this page)

Teachers. For more in depth work sheets on constellations. Click on Kidskonnect Worksheets  

For further reading on the Lacerta Constellation visit

  Key Vocabulary Constellation. Star. Celestial. Sphere.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Enter Captcha Here : *

Reload Image