Universe is everything!
telescope at astroshop
Last Moon Landing

  • years
  • :

  • Months
  • :

  • days

  • hours
  • :

  • minutes
  • :

  • seconds

Capricornus – The Sea Goat

Capricornus is one of the 88 constellations within the celestial sphere.

Capricornus is one of the 42 constellations that represents an animal.

Symbolism: Capricornus is also known as ‘The Sea Goat’


History & Mythology

Capricornus has been known by many different cultures and represents many different things for these cultures throughout history. In Greek mythology, Capricornus was one of the ancient Greek gods. The half Goat half Fish creature turned its lower body into a Fish to escape from the monster called Typhon. The mid sized constellation is situated between constellations Sagittarius and Aquarius.  


Key Data

Bordering Constellations: Capricornus is bordered by constellations Aquarius, Piscis Austrinus, Aquila, Sagittarius & Microscopium.

Sky Chart #: 4.

Star Raking: 40th largest constellation in the celestial sphere. 

Main Stars: Capricornus consists of 23 main stars.

Brightest Star: Delta Capricorni.


Kids Fun Facts Corner

# 1. Capricornus has 5 stars with planets.

# 2. Columba has 2 Deep-Sky Objects. M30 & HCG 87. 

# 3. Delta Capricorni is the brightest star in Capricornus.


Q&A Corner  

Q. What is Capricornus also known as?

Q. How many main stars does Capricornus have?

Q. What is the brightest star in Capricornus ?

Q. How many stars have planets in Capricornus?

Q. What number star ranking is Capricornus in the celestial sphere? 

Download questions about the Capricornus Constellation here: Capricornus (answers are on this page)

Teachers. For more in depth work sheets on constellations. Click on Kidskonnect Worksheets  

For further reading and more on the Capricornus Constellation visit

  Key Vocabulary Constellation. Star. Celestial. Sphere.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Enter Captcha Here : *

Reload Image